White after Labor Day? Seersucker in September? Please, don’t make me hurt you….

With just a few weeks left until Labor Day, I find myself wearing all of my summer clothes as much as I can before it’s time to store them away, in fact my co-workers have deemed me “her brightness,” a title I will hold at least for another week or two. There’s a constant debate about wearing white after Labor Day – and whether the rule is old or still applies. IT DOES.

 Where did the rule actually come from? Originally it was supposed to be no wearing of white shoes after Labor Day or before Memorial Day, although Easter is what is practiced.  It seems to be a bit unclear, but it appears as if it started back in the late 19th century until the 1950’s, when many more people began to enter the middle class. They didn’t know the standards, so they were given rules in order to fit in and appear classy and well kept.

 Many think the rule originated in the south, where the American fashion standard was a little higher than the rest of America. I find this a little funny, b/c the south is so much hotter longer into the year, so you would think we would want to wear all the lightweight summer clothes for as long as we can. But here in the south, it seems to be something we follow religiously. It’s how we were raised. There was no arguing, or even questioning why – it was just something that simply was not done. It would be ‘uncouth’ and ‘tacky’ – two things any good southerner would not want to be labeled.

 As time moves on, the controversy around this argument heats up. Oprah said you can, so now that means it’s set in stone, and has become the new golden rule, right? Well I beg to differ. You can open up any fashion magazine and you’ll get mixed reviews, but here in the south we follow the old rule and so ladies – it’s about that time.

 Not quite sure of what all goes? Well, let me help you.

 Clothes:

White from the waist down, shirts are ok, depending on material. Pack all linen, seersucker (many state you can’t wear this after July 4th, but I give it to Labor Day), Eyelet, Gauze, Madras, Gingham, Strapless sundresses, ultra bright or pastel colors – or anything that makes you look like an Easter egg.

 Shoes:

Pack up the whites, the gladiator sandals, the flip flops should go too, but that one is hard for me, anything made out of materials I just mentioned, or in super summer designs, such as espadrilles (which I think should have never been invented) or boat shoes.

 Accessories:

No white belts or purses. Pack up your straw hats and bags, anything that has rope detail, ribbons, or cork.

 The point is this – even though it may be hot as hell in September, it’s starting the fall season…..many of your clothes can transition for a few more weeks, such as capri’s or open toed shoes, but the super summery stuff needs to go up – simply b/c it’s not summer anymore. You wouldn’t wear a wool turtleneck sweater in July even if it was cool, so don’t wear a white linen dress just because it’s hot. Dress for the season, not the weather. Hey….I realize it might suck, but deal with it. Fashion isn’t always supposed to be comfortable. So, as much as it pains me to say this….get ready, b/c in just a few weeks,  it’ll be time to send most of our Lilly into the storage closet…. I know it’s hard, but you can do it. Please, don’t let me down…..

Leave a comment